add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Time for a new rig. ($4,000)

ZeroSerenity
  • 63 months ago

My current piece is six years old and is starting to have enough trouble to make me desire a replacement. After attempting to add RAM (it's at it's max somehow with only 8 gigs), change the video card, add three new hard drives and jump from Vista to 8 (in one go, it was $40 at the time), it is still giving me random niche trouble, like having too many USB devices attached causes the controllers to freak out. But the biggest one I have is not being able to use Hyper-V. I'm a software developer by trade and I want to have an easy method of virtualizing stuff back instead of buying VM ware.

Budget: $4,000USD (I've got a phenomenally well paying job and it is really this high)

Picker

I haven't scratch built a rig in six years (this rig is the one in question) and while I'm certain the compatibility is solid and the equipment choices are top notch, I want some other opinions. It's all together (save the video card at the end, which is absent from the database at the moment) but then it gives me a warning:

"The G.Skill Trident X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-2800 Memory operating voltage of 1.65V exceeds the Intel Haswell Refresh CPU recommended maximum of 1.5V+5% (1.575V). This memory module may run at a reduced clock rate to meet the 1.5V voltage recommendation, or may require running at a voltage greater than the Intel recommended maximum."

Is this telling me that if I go as is I will have to OC the CPU to get it all functioning or the RAM will just never hit its maximum speed or...?