add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Mom building a computer for her son.

salamanderclan
  • 71 months ago

I am a mom, and not all that computer savy and I promised my 16 year old that he would get a new computer for gaming. I am not really good at this, and to be honest, all of the stuff out there makes my head spin. He wants a computer to game with. This is an upgrade. (his current computer will go to his little brother) He will only run one screen, but plays Battlefield 4, Starcraft and all of those crazy games. I really didn't want to go over 1200 but I want to make sure that he can play his games on high since he's fussing about his games only playing at medium resolution now, and I want this to last for a couple of years until he's out of my house, which means he's on his own for any new toys.!

I would really appreciate any feedback and suggestions on my builds below so that: 1. I will be the coolest mom in the world to my teenager, and 2. So I don't screw anything up.

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/v4P7GX

second build:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/YXhYmG

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 2 points

Here's a slightly different setup that keeps the same level of performance for under your 1200 budget, let me know if you'd like anything explained and good luck

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor $234.99 @ NCIX US
CPU Cooler Phanteks PH-TC12DX_RD 68.5 CFM CPU Cooler $59.99 @ Amazon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-SLI ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $118.99 @ Amazon