add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Questions about how many coolers can be in a case

AlexDeDerp

1 month ago

So if I had a case with 3 fans in the front and 1 exhaust fan and room for 2 fans on the top and a cpu cooler could I have 3 rgb fans in the front and one for the cpu cooler and the exhaust fan and have a double liquid cooler * Corsair perhaps?* that are also rgb. Main thing is can I have liquid cool and regular at the same time or no I’m new to building PCs so yeah

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

I am having a hard time deciphering this question. I guess you are referring to fans as coolers instead of the coolers that fans go on such as a CPU cooler or GPU cooler.

As for fans you can fill up every possible spot with one but how much good will it do depends on many factors and you also have to deal with diminishing returns. Generally in most PC cases it is better to have as many fans or more blowing into the case than fans exhausting the case. The NZXT H500 case is one example that goes against this rule so this does not apply to all cases. (too many variables)

3 fans in at the front and 1 fan exhaust at the back generally should be decent for airflow in most setups and adding more fans may not really affect temps all that much. Once you are replacing the mass of air in the case every couple of seconds with outside air then the components that generates heat will have a hard time keeping up trying to saturate said air with heat before it is replaced.