add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Should I get case fans for the H500?

cesano

1 month ago

so, I've been reading around on websites about case fans for the h500 and some people say that you shouldn't get case fans and you should just use the stock fans because extra fans don't help the temperature, but others say that you can get fans because it creates positive pressure? I'm not so sure what is positive pressure and I'm really new to pc building so I was wondering if I should get any case fans and if I should, which fan should I get?

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

If you have more exhaust fans than intake fans, you will create negative air pressure. This means that air from outside of the case will enter any way it can to balance out the air pressure. If you have more intake fans than exhaust, you create positive air pressure. This will force air out of every crack in your system to balance out the air pressure.

For the NZXT H500, the two fans that come with the case are set to exhaust. This means that you will have negative air pressure right out of the box unless you add fans to the case. This was tested and found to be of benefit to the video card as cool air from behind the PCIe slots will enter to help cool the card. Adding fans to the front of the H500 didn't really help much as the side vent holes are too small for extra fans to push more air through the case. The stock negative pressure of the case already draws as much air as those side vent holes allow.