add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

1070 is NOT overkill for 60hz

roman41xt

36 months ago

Hello guys,

I have been reading a lot of comments that 1070 is an overkill for FullHd monitors. I think most of people who say so don't even have 1070 or 60hz monitor and just watch videos on youtube. My rig is (i7 6700/16gb ram/msi Armor 1070 oc... When I started playing games (like Far cry 3 or Witcher 2) I thought 1070 was an overkill with fps being around 90-120.. I decided to lock my fps to 60. But later I started having dips to 50-55 and it is very noticeable and annoying. I can lock fps to 50 to fix this but then is 1070 an overkill then? 98 percent of the time fps is ok. But there are intense moments when it dips below 60.

Maybe it's not so important for most players and doesn't justify the price difference but I would not say that 1070 is waste of money fot 60 hz as you sometimes don't even get 60 fps with 1070 let alone rx480 or 1060. I can easily shoot the video and show that 1070 is an overkill with fps well beyond 100. But sometimes it drops and you never know when this is going to happen.

I do own 1070 card and 60hz monitor and speak from my personal experience. If the budget is tight.. got for rx480 or 1060.. If you have some extra cash I'd go with 1070. You won't regret it.

Hope it helped someone who has not decided which card to buy.

Comments

• 36 months ago
  • 5 points