add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First Time Building a Computer

thebigbadpineapple
  • 47 months ago

This is my first time building a PC. This is my build, and I'd like some feedback. I have only bought the GPU so far, so change is still possible. I bought the GPU a few days prior to the 1060's announcement, so bleh. I'm manly unsure about the motherboard, but advice on any parts is helpful. So are tips on building the thing. Thank you! All help is appreciated!

http://pcpartpicker.com/list/djKFtJ

Comments

• 47 months ago
  • 2 points

So your cpu is an overclocking one but your motherboard does not allow overclocking. I would either choose a z-170 board so you can overclock or get a non overclocking cpu. Im suspecting this is largely for gaming so you could EASILY get away with just getting a i5-6500.

But looks good, the Kingston ssd isnt great and like an adata premier would be better and cheaper.

• 47 months ago
  • 1 point

Any suggestions for the specific model of motherboard? As you can see, I'm quite new to the PC scene. Also, would the i7 vs i5 make any significant difference in game? If it would, I'd prefer getting it now, as I want to get a pretty future proof build.

• 47 months ago
  • 2 points

I personally would go i5, theres very very low difference in games, do you want to overclock?

• 47 months ago
  • 1 point

I most likely will end up overclocking, at least mildly. As for the i7, what would it change? Looking to learn more about all of this as I go.

• 47 months ago
  • 2 points