PCPartPicker

• Register

Render Blender on GPU or CPU? (1070 or 6600K)

Forum Search

Guidelines

• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

HappyHambo 33 months ago

I'm just wondering if it would be faster to render my Blender models on the new PC I'm planning on building by using the GTX 1070 or i5-6600K. I'm certain that I'm getting the 1070 but if it would be faster to render on the CPU I would consider upgrading to a 6700K or maybe even one of the new i7 Broadwell-E CPUs.

Help is APPRECIATED :)

Comments Sorted by:

Acepirer 4 points 33 months ago

Ive been using blender for about 2 YEARS now and i know. Using gpu to render in blender is undoubtly faster ( ive used it ) with nvidia and AMD . However blender cannot use gpu to render some scenes with physics simulations , particle collisions, smoke and etc ( this is where the cpu is used ) this applies to the internal and cycles engine . So if youre just rendering a scene wihout any physics simulations, you are better with a stronger GPU, if u are the kind of person who likes to play with simulations, u are better with a stronger CPU.

Hope this helps, someone please correct me if im wrong. :)

jojobyte 2 points 33 months ago

youre right , but HappyHambo said that he will render only his models so he should go with more gpu power

HappyHambo submitter 2 points 33 months ago

Thanks a lot. I pretty much only make static scenes so I'll probably stick with the 6600K and save them money :)

Acepirer 1 point 33 months ago

Youre welcome :)

Ksongs 2 Builds 2 points 33 months ago

Not quite sure if this helps, but while rendering with Blender cycles render time is a lot faster for me with my GPU (390x) than my CPU (I7 4790k).

HappyHambo submitter 2 points 33 months ago

It does help. Most people seem to find the same so I'm going to stick with the i5 and render with the GPU.