add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is My i5-4670K Temperature okay?

MrWhiteMacaroon

71 months ago

Min: 38 C at idle and 73 C at Max, I am using the OCCT program to test and I have an Cooler Master Hyper EVO 212 to cool it down. Do you recommend any other testing program that works for Haswell and on Windows 8?

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Tad too much :P But try not to go over 72 though.

Idle Temperature 28 to 35°C

Load Temperature 47 to 60°C

Max Temperature 72°C

By curiosity, what case do you use? Any OC yet? OCCT is good but I recommend Prime95, good old always work.
And CoreTemp or RealTemp for temp readings. My favs.

Edit: Is it like your first run at it? The cooler has a thermal paste That you have to apply. All thermal pastes has a break-in period. You will notice a 2-5degree difference in that break-in period. Continue to use it but in regular uses and shut the PC down, to allow the thermal grease to settle. I tend to force the CPU cooler side to side when its in place to make sure the grease spreads ok. Don't play with it while it's not secured in, you'll end up with an uneven surface.

EDIT 2: I saw your case, it is supposed to have good cooling in there. In the end, it might just be OCCT overrating your temps. Which is better than underrating.

EDIT 3: Other temp reading softs, I personaly use Core Temp and Everest. I also recommend HWMonitor.
LINKS:
Everest: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1398/everest-ultimate-edition-5-02-exe-package/mirrors
Core Temp: www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
Real Temp: www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/